Reply
Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2012

Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / Please Help!

Hello all, I accidentally deleted the firmware that comes pre installed with the board for the PSoC chip. So I aquired all of the documentation on how to return the board to its original state, and I have been trying to program this PSoC IC for the past hour. I have followed the directions to the dot and have had no luck so far, first off on PSoC programmer 3.15 the device that is on the Spartan board is not even a selectable device to program, so I downloaded an earlier verion of PSoC programmer(3.00) and found the device that I needed to select. So once I got the device that I needed, I tried to reprogram the chip and kept getting the same "Unable to connect to device, check connection." I have a few questions, and if anyone knows anything or could point me in the right direction I would be greatly appreciative, since this board is a brick now. Does the power jumper on the top right of the board need to be moved to the program position in order to program the PSoC device? Also do you need to power the MiniProg through the PSoC programmer or do you just allow the USB to power it? If anyone has any information as to what might be happening I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks alot, all help would be awesome!

Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / Please Help!

[ Edited ]

I am a PSoC Specialist for Avnet. I don't have a Spartan3A eval board, but I have programmed PSoC1 through the MiniProg. I have attached a screenshot of a successful MiniProg connection to a Cypress PSoC1 eval board. A couple of thing to make sure. ISSP is the programming protocol. I mostly use Power Cycling for the programming mode. Make sure that the device family and part number are correct. I will check the documentation to see which PSoC1 is on the Spartan 3A

PSoC1_Programming_Window.png
Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / Please Help!

I found the document for the Spartan 3A board.  This board requires Reset Programming Mode.  Select that Mode and, if the target is powered, then program

PSoC1_Programming_Window2.png
Avnet Employee
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-23-2009

Re: Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / Please Help!

I was able to restore the PSoC image using PSoC Programmer Version 3.15.0.1220 by following the instructions in the "Restoring the Spartan-3A Evaluation Kit to its Original State" guide.  Also, I updated the firmware of the programmer from 1.73 to 1.80 using the Utilities tab and clicking the Upgrade Firmware button.

 

The power jumper (JP7) on the top right of the board should have a jumper on pins 1-2. Make sure the programming mode is correct. Setting the mode to Power Cycle when the chip already has external power, results in a "Can't Acquire Device" error. Similarly, setting the mode to Reset if there is no external power, also results in this error.  As written in the guide, the programmer gets power through the USB connection.  Before programming, you will need to toggle the power to turn on the MiniProg. 

 

Regards,

Marvin


 

Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2012

Re: Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / Please Help!

Thank you for the replies guys! Which device did you select while using PSoC Prog. 3.15? I checked continuity between the ISSP header and the PSoC device and everything was there. Since I could not find the CY8C24894-24LFXI, I got one of our rework specialist at work to replace it with the newer CY8C24894-24LTXI which is supported under PSoC programmer 3.15. I will try you guys suggestions and see if I can get any results, if not I will post a screen shot of what kind of failure I am recieving and take a few pics of the board as well.

Avnet Employee
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-23-2009

Re: Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / Please Help!

I selected Device Family 24x94 and device CY8C24894-24LTXI.  To be able to select a device, select "OFF" for AutoDetection. 

Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-16-2015

Re: Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / Please Help!

I somehow have the same issue here. I am running Win7 and tried to install the drivers for AVNET spartan 3A PCB (the red one with the four golden plates at the right, I once got for $39). I entered my account and found docu for this so I am sure it is the one which you talk about here.

Now, what I did so far:

Well starting the AV Proggrammer it came up with someting like "wrong version 1.0.1" need to have "1.1.x" - which I found described as an issue elsewehre too.

Therefore I tried to update the firmware on the Spartan PCB and (for the first time) made use of the Cypress MiniProg. I was asked to update the firmware and it came up with 1.80. Now, when reading this thread, I came it appears that is is the firmware of the MiniProg, right?

Then when going through the docu, I found the hint to the new firmware of the Spartan located in the ...\... AVnet\ directory.

I pointed Miniprog to this file via load and it seemed to have programmed. But practically it failed.

 

Now this is the point where I am stuck! I played with the power settings too without a result. When starting to program, the MiniProg starts to flash with red LEDs heavily and returns with "cannot aquire ...." as shown above.

What to do?

 

Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-16-2015

Re: Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / Please Help!

The image shows to board and the way who the MiniProg tis to the device. At first it appeared to be strange and turned the wrong away, but this is the only way to fit it. Optically it seemed to be meant to other direction, however.

My System is from 2010 or so, is it possible the the Software does not cooperate with an old device?

 

avnetboard.jpg
Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-16-2015

Re: Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / - solved

Ok, I did it. The issue was the USB power. My USB port was neither able to drive both MiniProg and simultanously the avnet pcb, neither it was able to power it through MiniProg, like described in the manual. For those who have the same problem of updating the PCB:

 

I plugged a 5V= supply to source the pcb. Attention: The inner pin is "+", the outher pin is "-" !  The jumper setting is as described in the schematics sheet:  upper jumper J2 set to 3-2  and jumper  J7 set to 2-1.  The board should power up and load the FPGA like as with USB connection.

Doing so, then current (not the old) MiniProg is able to connect to the avnet PCB. The LEDs do light up green and are blinking instead of beeing red or off.

Using MiniProg th the power setting has to be checked ,a eventually ->"toogled".

Then is is possible to load the newer 1.1.0 Version of the avnet firmware to the avnet pcb, located in the AVNET directory.

Having done this , the AV Prog works fine - using USB power only. The driver XPSP2, Vista works for Windows 7.

What I physically observe: The provided *.bit files operate with the AVProg directly, but my own didn't. I tried lowering communication speed and used drive done pin high in the Xilinx Setup and the it worked. Later it all worked without these settings however.

 

 

 

Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-02-2015

Re: Can not reprogram PSOC with MiniProg / - solved

After reading the suggestions it is working

Thanks