Reply
Highlighted
Regular Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Accepted Solution

Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

[ Edited ]

I am using Avnet Spartan-3 Evaluation kit (FPGA = XC3S400). I want to program it with a parallel cable (DB-25 connectors at both end) using Xilinx iMPACT tool. Whenever I connect and try to program the FPGA iMPACT gives error (#923) : "Can not find cable, check cable setup!". I have tried all solutions suggested by Xilinx (http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/30184.htm) but couldn't succeed.

 

I also have tried every possible configuration setting in iMPACT (i.e. using boundary-scan method, slave serial method, Select MAP, Desktop Configuration, Direct SPI configuration).

 

Can anybody please help me with this issue? Is this possible to program it with a simple parallel cable? If not then why did this cable come with this kit? and what is the use of parallel port on the kit?

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 613
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

AR30184 refers to the Xilinx USB cable. To debug the parallel cable, refer to the following:

 

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/15742.htm

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/11505.htm

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/8096.htm

 

Please report back regarding your results.

 

Bryan

Regular Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-13-2010

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

As i mentioned earlier I am using a simple parallel cable with DB-25 connectors at both the ends of the cable. The solutions you have suggested are for Parallel cable 3, 4 and for USB cable.

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 613
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

The including Parallel Cable connects to electronics on the board that make it a Parallel-III equivalent.  Therefore, you should use the Parallel-III debugging techniques when using this cable with iMPACT.

 

A better and faster option than the P3 cable is to upgrade to the Xilinx Platform Cable USB II.

 

Bryan

Regular Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-13-2010

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

I tried AR #11505 and it worked. So problem is resolved now. Thanks!
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-18-2015

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

I have a similar problem my Spartan kit comes with a DB 25 connector and I want to connect it to a Laptop which does not have a DB 25 connector. What Should I do ?
Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 613
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

I suggest you upgrade to a new cable.

http://em.avnet.com/jtaghs3

 

Bryan