Reply
Regular Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Accepted Solution

Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

[ Edited ]

I am using Avnet Spartan-3 Evaluation kit (FPGA = XC3S400). I want to program it with a parallel cable (DB-25 connectors at both end) using Xilinx iMPACT tool. Whenever I connect and try to program the FPGA iMPACT gives error (#923) : "Can not find cable, check cable setup!". I have tried all solutions suggested by Xilinx (http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/30184.htm) but couldn't succeed.

 

I also have tried every possible configuration setting in iMPACT (i.e. using boundary-scan method, slave serial method, Select MAP, Desktop Configuration, Direct SPI configuration).

 

Can anybody please help me with this issue? Is this possible to program it with a simple parallel cable? If not then why did this cable come with this kit? and what is the use of parallel port on the kit?

Highlighted
Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 613
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

AR30184 refers to the Xilinx USB cable. To debug the parallel cable, refer to the following:

 

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/15742.htm

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/11505.htm

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/8096.htm

 

Please report back regarding your results.

 

Bryan

Regular Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-13-2010

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

As i mentioned earlier I am using a simple parallel cable with DB-25 connectors at both the ends of the cable. The solutions you have suggested are for Parallel cable 3, 4 and for USB cable.

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 613
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

The including Parallel Cable connects to electronics on the board that make it a Parallel-III equivalent.  Therefore, you should use the Parallel-III debugging techniques when using this cable with iMPACT.

 

A better and faster option than the P3 cable is to upgrade to the Xilinx Platform Cable USB II.

 

Bryan

Regular Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-13-2010

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

I tried AR #11505 and it worked. So problem is resolved now. Thanks!
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-18-2015

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

I have a similar problem my Spartan kit comes with a DB 25 connector and I want to connect it to a Laptop which does not have a DB 25 connector. What Should I do ?
Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 613
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Programming Spartan-3 FPGA using simple parallel cable

I suggest you upgrade to a new cable.

http://em.avnet.com/jtaghs3

 

Bryan