Reply
Regular Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2011

Detected Video Resolution 0x0

I hooked up the kit right out of the box and got the "Detected Video Resolution 0x0" message. I followed the troubleshooting guide and checked pin PG_C2M and saw 2.5 V, which was the only thing the guide said to check.

 

Additional Info:

1. If I toggle the test parttern from the main menu, I get the colorbars but then I can't changed to any other test pattern.

2. Resetting the FPGA and re-starting the app still leads to a 0x0 message

3. The board is hooked up to a Dell 10" monitor

 

Thanks

Alvin

Regular Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2011

Re: Detected Video Resolution 0x0

Nevermind, I figured it out.

Thanks,

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 471
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Detected Video Resolution 0x0

Alvin,

 

I am glad you were able to resolve your issue.

 

Out of curiosity, what was causing the "Detected Video Resolution 0x0" message ? 

 

Regards,

 

Mario.

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-14-2011

Re: Detected Video Resolution 0x0

I am getting 1280x0 instead, anyone has this before ?

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 471
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Detected Video Resolution 0x0

The FPGA logic expects the image sensor to generate embedded BT.656 codes,

which includes codes to generate VSYNC.

 

If there are no embedded BT.656 codes, there will not be any VSYNC.

Without a VSYNC, the FPGA logic will fail to determine how many lines of video for each frame.

 

This is the most probable cause of your symptom: 1280x0

 

Can you describe your setup ?

- which reference design are you using ?

- which connector is the OV9715 connected to ? 

   - CAM1 (ie. CON300)

   - CAM2 (ie. CON301)

- which camera is the software configuring ?  does it match the hardware setup ?

 

Regards,

 

Mario.

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-14-2011

Re: Detected Video Resolution 0x0

[ Edited ]

hi mario,

 

i am running the modified reference on ml605. 

i've changed some of the settings : 

library : 

fmc_iic_sw v2.01a - needed to use this else it would be stuck in while loop

fmc_imageov_sw v2.01a

 

in the main() here are some changes made

FMC_ID_SLOT1 to FMC_ID_SLOT2

 

other than that was the changes from 's6' to 'v6', all other fimware codes were copied from the 13_1 version

 

camera connected to CON300

 

hope i didnt miss anything else

 

edit :

looking at the fmc_imageov_camera_in using chipscope, i do see the CCIR656 pattern, 

3ff 000 000 200 d0 d1 d2 .... 3ff 000 000 274, so i believe the ccir656 format is valid from the camera, 

 

 

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 471
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Detected Video Resolution 0x0

Chee Kin Tang,

 

Thank you for checking the embedded CCIR656 codes.

This confirms that the image sensor has been configured by your FPGA design.

 

The next probable cause may be that one of the VSYNC/VBLANK signals is disconnected somewhere between the fmc_imageov_camera_in and ivk_video_det pcores.

Can you send me your MHS file ?  This is something I can check quickly.

 

Regards,

 

Mario.

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-14-2011

Re: Detected Video Resolution 0x0

hi mario,

 

well, for the problem, i've solved it, i was missing the hsync and vsync on the gamma ports. they weren't available for connection in the GUI in xps. had to check in the mhs

a new problem is the hdmi, nothing appearing on it, time for more debugging tomorrow.

 

 

 

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 471
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Detected Video Resolution 0x0

Chee Kin Tang,

 

Good job !

 

For the DVI output, make sure that the "enable" port is active high.

The FMC IPMI software library uses the sg_i2c_controller pcore's GPIO as follows:

   - [0] => fmc1_enable

   - [1] => fmc2_enable

 

If you changed the FMC module location, please check the code for the

  fmc_ipmi_disable( &fmc_ipmi_iic, FMC_ID_SLOT1 );

or

   fmc_ipmi_disable( &fmc_ipmi_iic, FMC_ID_SLOT2 );

 

Regards,

 

Mario.

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-14-2011

Re: Detected Video Resolution 0x0

[ Edited ]

hi Mario

 

thanks for the hint, there is output now on the monitor.

i had to use FMC_ID_SLOT2 for detect, and FMC_ID_SLOT1 for the enable/disable section.

colors are good for the camera, but i have further question, 

 

the image output is rounded/fisheye output on LCD - i think its due to the lense issue that it has fish eye outputs, will have to source for some other lense, any recommendation ?

and is flickers/shifts, is this a frame issue ? it is shaking violently. 

 

further difference in my system is the system bus is running at 100mhz instead of 50mhz. i dont think this is the problem, correct me if i am wrong.

 

ck

 

edit. i am using the video clock labeled VIDEO_CLK_S6 (G3 on FMC) in the schematics, and this could be the problem when i am trying to use it on the ML605. will try correct this and give it another go to see if it solves the problem. 

 

nope, still have the problem. i had to use

NET "fmc_imageov_video_clk_pin" CLOCK_DEDICATED_ROUTE = FALSE; to be able to compile without error.