Reply
Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Digilent plugin on ise 13.1

the current digilent plugin only works on Ise 12.1. Any suggestions how to communicate from ise 13.1 (I'm using Linux)

 

Thanks

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 605
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Digilent plugin on ise 13.1

We're working on it with Digilent and will provide it publicly soon.  I'm hopeful that this will happen within the next week.

 

Bryan

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 605
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Digilent plugin on ise 13.1

The Digilent plug-in for 13.1 is now available for public download.  See the news announcement from Digilent:

 

http://www.digilentinc.com/News/newsBody.cfm?ID=15

 

Bryan

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 605
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Digilent plugin on ise 13.1

A couple more notes for operation in 13.1 using Windows...

 

First, make sure you have Adept 2.6 or later.

 

Second, you'll see in the Digilent documentation that you need to "ensure that the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Service Pack Redistributable Package with ATL Security Update is installed on the host computer."  This is not done by default by the Adept installer.  Here is where you get it:

 

Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Service Pack 1 Redistributable Package ATL Security Update: 

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?familyid=2051A0C1-C9B5-4B0A-A8F5-770A549FD78C&dis...

 

Installing Adept will give you the option to install the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Service Pack 1 Redistributable Package, but it is not the ATL Security Update.  This must be done manually if you do not already have it.

 

On my WinXP 32-bit machine, I can look in Add/Remove Programs and I see the following two entries:

  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.17        Size 10.28 MB
  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.4148    Size 10.19 MB

The .17 above is the one installed as part of the Adept install.  This is the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package.

 

If you see the following in your Add/Remove programs, it will not work as a substitute for the full .4148 package shown above.  Note the difference in sizes.

  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 ATL Update kb973924 - x86 9.0.30729.4148   Size 0.15 MB

If you don't have the C++ packages installed properly, after you setup the cable to use the digilent_plugin, you will get an Error Message stating:

 

ERROR:iMPACT - Could not open plug-in of the type: digilent_plugin.  Please check to make sure the correct plug-in for this type is properly installed.  The following targetNames are available:

<list of 6 different xilinx plug-ins>

 

Bryan

 

 

 

 

 

JA
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-14-2011

Re: Digilent plugin on ise 13.1

I've downloaded the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Service Pack 1 Redistributable Package ATL Security Update and installed it but in Add/Remove programs I only see this:

 

  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.17        Size 10.28 MB
  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30411             Size 11,10 MB
  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.21022             Size 6,04 MB

Hence I don't have

  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.4148    Size 10.19 MB

What can I do to install this missing part? I gett the error message as you describe so I guess this 4148 iss missing and is the cause of the error.

 

Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
Posts: 605
Registered: ‎04-20-2009

Re: Digilent plugin on ise 13.1

What O/S do you have?  32 or 64 bit?

 

I am not an expert regarding Visual C++.  I have a WinXP SP3, 32-bit machine.  I have attached what I see.  I have used the download from the Microsoft site successfully, and I have never heard of anyone having issues in seeing it show up in Add/Remove programs after installing.  All I can suggest is to make sure you are using the version that matches your OS and bit-size.  Notice that http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=11895 supports both Win7 and WinXP and has IA64, x64, and x32 versions.  Everything you show below are x86, so I'm assuming you have a 32-bit machine.

 

Otherwise, I'm hoping someone from the community has some experience in this area.

 

Bryan

MS2008_Cpp.jpg
Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Digilent plugin on ise 13.1

Thanks! I can verify that it does work under linux (Ubuntu 10.04).

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-13-2011

Re: Digilent plugin on ise 13.1

Hi,

If you have a Windows 64bits you need to put the folder "Digilent" of ..plugin/nt64/plugins/     at   .../ISE/lib/nt64/plugins
At the pdf notice the procedure is explained with the folder nt which works only for the 32bits OS.
It must resolve your problem.
Good luck